Posted in Life blog

Picnic at Walton Hall Gardens

For this post today I have a little helper with me, the best cousin in the world. Actually she’s not so little, she is taller than me. She is writing this with me today because she was with us on our day out yesterday to Walton Hall Gardens with the little bear.

Our day out was a trip for a picnic with me, little bear, my cousin and my auntie. We decided that because the weather was so nice we would take a picnic and have a picnic in the park. Bare in mind little bear doesn’t eat lunch like a normal person so picnic for her was a packet of crisps and some raisins. As you can imagine with it being the school holidays mixed with the nice weather, the place was packed, but we still found a good picnic spot.

To start our day off we decided to go on the Thomas the Tank Engine train around the park which I will admit I enjoyed it more than I possibly should have. That much in fact that I asked if we could go on it a second time. I sometimes wonder who is the child and who is the adult. After our fab trip on the train (the first time) we went into children’s zoo which had all sorts of little farm animals such as peacocks, chickens, pigs, ponies and goats. Little bear was in her element as she was able to roam free without being strapped in her pram. Every animal we went passed we had to stop so she could shout “iya” and “ooo’s” which means shoes.

After the little zoo we had our picnic, and a well deserved sit down, for us at least. Little bear doesn’t like to sit down. Even when she’s asleep she still isn’t still. Once our picnic had gone down we had to go in the park which was huge and very busy. As usual we went straight to the swings because they are little bears favourite and she loves being pushed on them. We must have gone around the park about 50 times before we decided that it was time for ice-cream. Because i’m a grown up I got a smarties pop up ice-cream to then be laughed at by my auntie and cousin for having one. I’m sorry but they are the nicest ice-creams ever. Better than a boring 99’er. Little bear doesn’t like ice-cream so she had a flake in a cone on it’s own, as you do. After ice-cream we had another go in the park before I wanted to be a child and go on the train again. This time round we got a free flag with Thomas the Tank Engine on, although little bear didn’t quite understand how flags work and decided to sit on it instead.

Once we got off the train we went for a walk around the beautiful gardens to finish our day off. By this point little bear was well and truly shattered but kept telling us that she wasn’t tired and wasn’t going to go sleep. The fact she fell asleep before we even got out of the car park says it all. I’ll take that as a sign that she had a good day. Walton Hall Gardens is a fab day out and was the perfect place for me to test out the new camera on my iPhone X. I have never used a camera that good. The pictures are just stunning and would recommend it to anyone.

I will definitely be going back as it was a fab day out and perfect for the little bear. Here are some pics from our day out.

Author:

Twitter Handle - Just_ClaireR

Leave a comment