Posted in Life blog

The unsuccessful sleepover

When you get offered the chance to have a peaceful weekend with no baby and no other half you would be silly not to jump at the chance for some peace and quiet. It all started off so well.

Friday night and the little bear has gone to stay with daddy bear at grandad’s house. When I got home from work the house was nice and quiet which was very strange but in a nice kind of way. You don’t know how nice it is to make food without a tiny human trying their best to climb up your leg. If you do then you know where I’m coming from. After coming down with a cold my plan was to have tea, catch up on Corrie and then go to bed but as you do I ended up watching pointless rubbish on the telly, as well as Corrie. Then I had the most amazing nights sleep in a long time.

Oh, how different Saturday night was. In my house, Saturday night is strictly come dancing night. I must say to daddy bear every week when it’s on that I want to start dancing and he just laughs. My cousin also has strictly Saturdays so I thought it would be a good idea for her to stay over and watch it together when the little bear had gone to bed. Daddy bear had gone on a “rare” night out with his friends so it was the perfect opportunity.

All was going well till it came to bedtime for the little bear who had caught my cold. She was and still is so blocked up poor thing. We did the usual bed routine of teeth brushing and nappy changed etc and then because the little bear is absolutely besotted with aoiaoiaoi (Alice) she had to stay and help get her into bed. This is the point everything went west.

For some reason, she didn’t want to settle and cried and cried until we went back upstairs. I threw our tea together, inhaled it, and then went back to up to see what was the matter. It was like the bed was just not the place to be. So we brought her back down and she watched some strictly with us, dancing around the room to hopefully tire her out. It didn’t work.

I think we tried everything possible to try and get her to go to sleep. We thought we nearly had it when at one point little bear insisted that me and aoiaoiaoi had to lie on the floor with a tiny blanket over our feet. It gets better. Little bear has a box in her room where she keeps her dummy’s so she got the box and shoved a dummy in my mouth and one in Alice’s mouth then lay down in the middle of us. Trying to keep a straight face and not giggle when you need to be a responsible parent is really hard when your child is shoving a dummy in your mouth and ordering you to lie on her floor. I sometimes wonder who is really in charge.

By this point, it is around 10:45pm and still no sign of sleep. We tried watching her favourite tv programme, watching Moana and still no giving in from her part. It’s coming up to midnight now and she is still going so I had the great idea to tuck Alice into bed in the hope that would encourage the little bear to do the same. She tucked Alice in and then we went back into her room to read a story. Due to the obsession with Peppa Pig, the book of choice was, of course, Peppa Pig, but we weren’t satisfied with just reading it. We wanted to cuddle the book to sleep. At this point, I was willing to do anything if it meant she fell asleep.

It worked! Within 5 minutes she was asleep. Absolutely zonked, and after 30 mins or so I moved her into her bed and she didn’t even flinch she was that tired. My only issue was now I was that wired I couldn’t sleep myself so I was sat on the phone to April watching the X-factor in the early hours of the morning.

So my life lesson from last night is if you want some proper peace and no drama when you have kids, then keep dreaming! I am one tired mama bear today

šŸ»

Author:

Twitter Handle - Just_ClaireR

Leave a comment